Fasting Insights

This is a post I found on Amanda Beattie’s blog, http://amandabeattie.wordpress.com. I liked it so here it is.

So I don’t have much to say, but I did want to drop by with a couple of points I’ve been gleaning from this fast:

  • I like eating. I like it more than I actually need it.
  • I also (gasp) kind of like fasting. That’s not in a, “Oh boy, this is so much fun, I wish I never had to eat again” way. Rather, it’s in a way that says, “It’s nice to actually put the brakes on for a few weeks and not have to think about what I’m eating, when I’m eating, where I’m getting money to eat, or whether I should be eating better — just pray and actually focus on getting breakthrough in my heart”.
  • I don’t like being weak. Perhaps more appropriately put, I don’t like acknowledging and dealing with my weakness. But I know it’s worth it.
  • If you read Isaiah 40-66 and don’t walk away thinking that God is really, really merciful, you need to go back and read it again. Especially in the 50’s.

To read the rest of this post, click here

I love the personal side of this post. It’s always fun to hear people’s views of fasting outside of the ecstatic revelations you usually hear. Not that I don’t like ecstatic revelations, I just want a balanced view I guess. Thanks Amanda!

One response to “Fasting Insights

Leave a comment